Chancellor's Task Force welcomes campus participation

Dear KU Community,

For the past six weeks, the Sexual Assault Task Force has been working together to make KU safer for all of us. The task force is exploring recommendations to Chancellor Gray-Little that address short-term and long-term solutions to prevent and respond to sexual violence in our campus community.

Each of us on the Sexual Assault Task Force is personally and professionally committed to addressing this issue, which has affected many in our community individually and all of us collectively.

The task force is reviewing the current policies, practices and sanctions in place at KU and evaluating ways to improve them. We are also focusing on strengthening prevention programs and advocacy for survivors.

We have received letters of concern and many offers of assistance from people at KU and beyond. The Sexual Assault Task Force values your ideas, and we have been moved by the stories that have been shared with us.

To foster further participation, a Sexual Assault Task Force webpage has been established at The webpage contains more information about the specific charges and goals of the task force. Throughout the academic year, we will share our progress with you here.

On the webpage, you may submit an anonymous comment. You may also email the Sexual Assault Task Force directly at

As we continue to research the issues and consider the best path forward for preventing and responding to sexual violence at KU, we encourage you to contribute to this critical conversation. Your voices are important, and we look forward to hearing from you.


Alesha Doan, SATF Co-chair, Chair of WGSS & Associate Professor Political Science
Angela Murphy, SATF Co-chair, Graduate Student Department of English
Juliana Carlson, SATF Member, Assistant Professor School of Social Welfare
Maureen Cole, SATF Member, External Relations Assistant, CLAS
Jake Doerr, SATF Member, Undergraduate Student, Department of History
Emma Halling, SATF Member, Undergraduate Student, Department of WGSS
Natty Mabachi, SATF Member, Research Assistant Professor, School of Medicine
Jake McMillian, SATF Member, Graduate Student, School of Law
Nate Thomas, SATF Member, Vice Provost for Diversity & Equity
Bob Walzel, SATF Member, Dean School of Music
Corey Rayburn Yung, SATF Member, Professor of Law

Report sexual assault or harassment

Both KU Public Safety and the Office of Institutional Opportunity and Access can investigate cases of sexual assault and harassment.

In an emergency, dial 911.

To reach Public Safety in non-emergency situations, call (785) 864-5900 or visit

Contact IOA at (785) 864-6414​ or via